Posted by: 103rdtransferwife | May 22, 2010

Tell me Whyyyyyy, Why, Whyyyyyy

373 days until until this kind of trouble is done. As of now, it has just begun.

Tonight I am addressing the “Why” for this blog.  Simply put, I saw that the 103rd ESC’s PAO has a blog, and I wanted a blog to tell my story, the story of those not on the grand adventure.  It’s the PAO’s job to spin the Army’s side of the story, and I felt the need to publish my side of the story.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done PR and marketing, I understand how the system works. I just wanted one voice out there telling a different version of this deployment.  I don’t see my blog as being confrontational to her blog, rather just telling the same story from a very different angle.  I  wanted to tell my story to anyone out there interested in reading it. I also read a lot of military wives blogs , which on the majority seemed to be unfailingly positive, and I just wanted a voice out there saying “Hey, this sucks.”  Sometimes, I felt that the attitude of a lot of military wife blogs is that being negative is a sin.  Now there are plenty of blogs out there who are snarky, but from my blog searching, deployments sure seemed to be sugar coated.

I recently watched an excellent movie Julie & Julia.  I highly recommend the movie.  The movie follows a woman named Julie as she blogs her way through cooking Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” .  Then it alternates to Julia Child’s life as she lived in Paris and how she came to learn to cook, and ultimately publish the cookbook.  In the movie, Julie mentions how blogging is a very narcissistic activity, where the writer is the center of the universe.  I can agree with that.  This is my tale, no one else’s. Other wives may have an entirely different experience.  This isn’t my husband’s story either, although he will be mentioned, and I love him dearly.  This is my story, my telling of this year of separation. And yes, my husband knows about my blog, has read it, and he supports my blogging.

In addition to my story,  (since I ordered a crap load of them off of Amazon) I have decided to begin reviewing books directed at those going through a military deployment.  First up is Confessions of a Military Wife.  Hopefully this will be something interesting to my readers, who so far are number 25 a day on wordpress, and I have no idea how many people read my blog on the Des Moines Register site.

I’ve blogged before, and I found it to be a great release of emotions.  I know that I have poured my pain into earlier postings.   My last blog was a known blog, meaning I published identifying information, pictures and the like.  This blog will remain under a pen name until my husband is home.  I think the reasons for that decision are obvious.  It’s not like I’ve been the biggest cheerleader to the leadership of this unit.  I plan on expressing the joys and frustrations of this deployment, as well as confronting Army stupidity and failure, such as the previously discussed failure to communicate to soldiers how to actually get their mail.

How am I doing today?  Today’s been a B- kind of day.  I went out with a friend to do work, and we had lunch while we were out.  We tried a new to us Chinese restaurant, and it was yummy.  I had a craptastic morning because I didn’t want to get up, so I ended up having my mom take Poppet tonight.  People keep telling me I’m doing too much, and need to ask for help, so I asked for help, and Poppet had a lovely time with my mother and grandparents eating at a buffet.

Tonight I got to Skype with my husband.  It was wonderful to see him.  I love hearing his voice and seeing his smile.  There is something wonderful about being able to see and hear a loved one as they laugh.  He’s worried about an assessment, so I tried to calm his nerves and gave him encouragement.

So that’s the why of this blog.  Basically, I think I have a story to tell, and thanks to the internet, sites that host my blog, and the First Amendment and the soldiers that defend our freedoms, I can tell my story.

I’m just going to add one little thing.  I love comments.

FYI: The title and countdown line come from one of my favorite songs “Why” by Annie Lennox.  I’m not suicidal or anything like that, and my husband and I did not have a fight.  This song just came up on my iPod, and I felt the WHYYYYY fit  my topic of today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

