Posted by: 103rdtransferwife | May 1, 2010

Work Stress = Good Stress

393 days until our daughter has her daddy back home.

The last couple of days have been hard.  The thing is, a lot of it was work related.  Absolutely NORMAL, and it felt really good.  Who ever thought having to do the work that piles up when you take a week off would be a good thing?  Yesterday I was on a massive non-missable deadline, and had to focus my mind and work.  I did it. I had to take a Xanax, but I did it.   I am very proud of myself.  I have another deadline on Monday morning, and will spend a good part of the weekend doing the work to meet that goal.  I’ll make it.  But who ever would have thought that having some incredibly stressful days at work would feel normal, and that something was right in the universe?  It’s just typical end of month stuff. However, April is my busiest month of the entire year for service plans, compiled with a week off scheduled due to the scheduling of this deployment, not because I wanted to up and take a week off.  Normally I have one or two service plans due a month.  In April, I had 6 plans due.

During the break in the 103rd’s training, we took a needed vacation to the Pacific, and I flew to Des Moines to attend the farewell ceremony. I flew more last week than I have in the past 5 years.  We received wonderful treatment from United on all our flights, and would like to recommend them.  I’d also like to note that upgrading to United Economy Plus is VERY worth it.

It’s snowing here.  It’s May.  It’s snowing.  They sprayed the roads with the salt preparation solution yesterday.  I’m so sick of snow. I’ll point out that because of my travels, I’ve pretty much spent the last week and a half in bad weather.  Not fun.

We are going to my mom’s today.  We’ll go see a movie tonight, I’ll get my work done, and we’ll go to church tomorrow.  I plan on coming home Sunday night.  I’ll only leave out a day’s worth of cat food so she can’t convince me to spend the night Sunday night too.  She’s a person who thinks all the problems of the world are solved by getting up early.  I’d rather work late into the night and sleep in. I know she means well and is trying to get me out, and I do need the help with our daughter so I can get my work finished.  However, as I’ve noted, I’ve been away from home a LOT in the last 2 weeks, and I really want to be home.  I honestly feel very bad for our soldiers who don’t get to be home for over a year.  Also after all the traveling, chaos, and work of the last 2 weeks, my house is a mess.  I really need to spend some quality time cleaning up.  I’ve made the decision that while my husband is deployed, I’m hiring a bi-weekly cleaning service.  Cleaning has never been a strong point of mine, it’s my husband who did a lot of the house cleaning. I know from past times when he’s been gone for a long time for Army schools, that house cleaning is a huge stressor for me while he’s gone.  So I’m getting some help with it.  I’m hiring someone to help me.  It will free me up to have time to be more attentive to things I can’t pay someone else to do, like parent our daughter, and do my work.  I work from home, so having a clean home will make work less stressful as well.

My husband and I had a serious talk about something we didn’t resolve before he went.  It’s not an issue at all right now, but it could be in the future.  I’m a big believer in having discussed big decisions and reaching a decision before they are an emotionally pressing emergency.  I look at these decisions like TPTB suggest we look at organ donation and end of life issues.  We need to have the discussion with our families expressing our wishes before we are in a coma and can’t express them.  This issue isn’t an end of life issue, we’ve had that discussion before, and did it again very recently in a JAG office when we updated our wills.  However it is an issue which we need to be in agreement with before it happens.  So I worked for about 2 days on an email and sent it to him.  He and I talked about it  I don’t think he totally agrees with me, but hopefully he understands my point of view, and he said he does understand why I want this addressed now.  We will keep talking about it, but honestly, there will never be a change of my mind on this issue, and no, it’s not about him re-enlisting. I do feel much better about having raised and discussed this issue.

One frustration for me is I’ve been so busy with work, I haven’t been able to get a care package off yet.  I was looking for a specific thing he wants, but I’ve never seen it here.  I’ve looked in 3 Walgreens for it.  He said it’s ok.  For a later package I’ll find it online.  I missed the deadline today, because I need to go on base and get some things, and I’ll send it Monday.  I just wish I had been able to get it sent off yesterday.  Since I can’t do all the little things I normally do for him, I know from past times I overcompensate by sending him stuff.  Many people in his home unit know me because I send stuff for them too, like sending a box of nice pens for him to share. It gives me something to do and it’s like I’m sending him a big hug and my love through the mail.  I still do this even though right now we talk and text regularly.  I’m very worried about how we will actually communicate in Iraq.  I’ve been trying to learn about SKYPE.  I hear they have phone instead of just web chats.  I have to do more research on this.

Also WAY TO GO UTAH JAZZ!  BRING ON THE FAKERS!

Leave a Reply

Categories

